Ridesharing is a popular form of transportation in Brazoria County. There are many Uber vehicles and Lyft vehicles operating in our communities. No matter what type of vehicle you are riding in, there is also the risk of a crash. You need to know your rights and your options as a ridesharing passenger. In this blog post, our Brazoria County car accident attorney provides a brief guide to ridesharing passenger crash claims in Texas.
Know the Law: Insurance Requirements for Ridesharing Services
Ridesharing is still relatively new. Uber and Lyft have only been available in Brazoria County for less than a decade. The complicating factor about these types of services is that ridesharing drivers use their own personal vehicle. In effect, this means that an Uber/Lyft is sometimes a commercial vehicle and sometimes a personal vehicle. There are state insurance requirements in place to help protect the rights of passengers. Under Texas law (Insurance Code Sec. 1954.001), all ridesharing vehicles carrying commercial passengers must meet the following insurance requirements:
- At least $50,000 for bodily injury/death per person.
- At least $100,000 for bodily/death per accident.
- At least $25,000 for damage to property.
All ridesharing services are required to ensure that their vehicles meet the Texas state minimum insurance standards. Notably, both Uber and Lyft provide additional coverage for passengers. Each company advertises a $1 million dollar commercial insurance policy for all ridesharing passengers.
What to Do if You are Hurt in an Accident as an Uber/Lyft Passenger in Brazoria County
If you were hurt in a crash as a ridesharing accident passenger in Brazoria County, it is imperative that you know the right steps to take to protect your health, well-being, and ability to recover compensation. Here are four steps to take after being involved in a serious crash as an Uber passenger or a Lyft passenger:
- Seek immediate medical attention for any injuries. Emergency medical needs come before anything else. Non-emergency injuries should be checked out by a doctor.
- Make sure that crash is reported to law enforcement. While it is the ridesharing driver’s responsibility to report a collision, you should get a copy of the police report.
- Notify the ridesharing service. You should be able to submit an initial report of an accident directly through your Uber app or your Lyft app.
- Consult with a Brazoria County car accident attorney. It is always best to speak with an attorney before giving a statement to any insurance company representative.
Contact Our Brazoria County Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Today
At the Kolodny Law Firm, our Brazoria County motor vehicle accident attorneys have the legal knowledge and professional experience to handle ridesharing accident claims. If you or your family member was hurt in an Uber accident or Lyft accident, we can help. Contact our firm today for a free case review. We handle Uber and Lyft accident claims throughout Brazoria County, including in Lake Jackson, Pearland, Freeport, Alvin, Angleton, Clute, Velasco, Manvel, and West Columbia.